Listen Live On Our Live Stream or Tune To Our Frequencies: 88.3 FM | 88.9 FM | 94.7 FM | 95.1 FM | 98.1 FM | 98.5 FM

PM Barrow Hands Over CARICOM Chairmanship on July 4 (CARICOM DAY)

As Americans celebrate their 240th anniversary of their independence today, the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) is celebrating its 43rd birthday.  On July 4, 1973 the founding fathers of CARICOM entered into the Treaty of Chaguaramas which led to the formation of the Caribbean Community.  Of all the member states, Guyana is the only country that declares this day a public and bank holiday.  Currently CARICOM has twenty three designated institutions under its umbrella including the Caribbean Court of Justice, the Caribbean Examinations Council, Caribbean Single Market and Economy, Caribbean Community Climate Change Centre, Caribbean Agriculture Research and Development Institute, among others.  CARICOM also has five Associate Institutions; among them being the Caribbean Development Bank, the Organization of Eastern Caribbean States and the University of the West Indies.  The 15-member organization bears its own flag which was adapted in November 1983 at the Conference of Heads of Government Meeting in Port of Spain, Trinidad.  Since its establishment in 1973 CARICOM has had seven Secretary General with the present being Irwin LaRocque of Dominica.  Belize’s Prime Minister Dean Barrow has been serving as the CARICOM Chairman since January 1, 2016.  Tonight, PM Barrow is being represented in Guyana by Foreign Minister Wilfred Elrington who is being accompanied by Belize’s Caricom Ambassador, Daniel Gutierrez and Chief Executive Officer, Lawrence Sylvestre.  The men are presently attending the 37th Regular Meeting of CARICOM Heads of Government in Georgetown, Guyana where Minister Elrington will be handing over the Caricom Chairmanship to Prime Minister of Dominica, Roosevelt Skerritt on behalf of PM Barrow.