Listen Live On Our Live Stream or Tune To Our Frequencies: 88.3 FM | 88.9 FM | 94.7 FM | 95.1 FM | 98.1 FM | 98.5 FM

Youth Awarded at Gala 2015

Youth Week was celebrated from November 29 to December 5. The Department of Youth Services along with the Love Foundation ended the week with the National Youth Awards Gala at the Belize Biltmore Plaza. The purpose of the award night was to recognize outstanding youths in society for the good work and involvement in their community as well country and region. Minister of State in Youth, Sports and Culture Elodio Aragon Jr spoke about celebrating youths and the important roles they have in Belize.


“This gives me great courage to know that in this country we have a lot of our young people who are dynamic and have their eye on the future and that makes me very proud and I know it makes this country proud to know that together we will continue to move forward especially in seeing the kind of talent, the kind of young people that we have in this country and it makes me feel so proud.  So tonight I want to congratulate all our young people that are here, from across this country coming together to celebrate this youth week in Belize. Today we are celebrating youth week under the theme “Youth let’s make the dream work with teamwork.” It is both timely and relevant for us to acknowledge the positive and selfless contributions being made by the youth in our society. Our young people continue to play pivotal roles in Belize’s development. This is the time to celebrate their achievements as we commit ourselves to meeting their personal development needs.”

Fourteen youths received awards Friday Night. Among them, Aidian Flowers for Academic Excellence; Raheem Mariano for Arts and Culture; Janae Matute for Differently Able; Kenrick Gonzalez for the Enterprise Award.  Meanwhile Environmental Club Award went to  Corozal Eagles; Female Youth in Sports to Kori Diego; Male Youth in Sports to Mark Anderson; Environmental Award for Adaly Cartagena; the Innovation award went to Crystal Samos; Pacesetter award to Rafael Castellanos; youth clubs to Belmopan Active Youth; Youth in Agricultutre to Kadeem Bennett;  youth in Media to David Smith and Youth Minister Award went to Andrew Munnings. Special CARICOM Youth Ambassador Awards were also presented to four outstanding youths.  Jeanelle Mencias for Outstanding Leadership, Award for Youth in Arts went to Shaquille Young, Achievers Award went to William Mahler and Outstanding Youth went to Bryton Codd.